Holiday Destinations For Families with Toddlers

We recently went on holiday to Majorca, Spain, with little man who’s two and half and my 4 month old daughter. When we told people we were going on holiday, we had a lot of negative feedback regarding taking a baby on holiday and how much stress it would be because she was too ‘young’.

Like I’ve stated in previous posts, I’m not really one to tailor my decisions based on other people’s perspectives. I mean, I agree with them to some level about her reacting to the noise on the plane and stuff like that but hey, I wanted to go holiday, I really felt like I needed a break so what was I supposed to do? Leave her at a nursery?

It wasn’t only the baby I was worried about though. As any parent potentially taking a toddler on holiday will tell you, it can be a very daunting experience making preparations especially if it’s your first family holiday.

I read oodles of blogs about what to take on holiday when travelling with a toddler and how to minimise tantrums and everything else under the sun. I will be sharing these tips in another post along with my experience of travelling with a baby and toddler. What worked and what didn’t, but for now; I’ll leave you with some amazing photos of the Island.

I dare you to not be tempted to move over there after comparing it with the dreadful British weather we have to put up with.

Contrary to public perceptions of Majorca, (courtesy of programmes like ‘Sun, sea and A&E’ and ‘Magaluf Weekender’),  I actually think Majorca is a very family friendly resort.

The hubs and I were pleasantly surprised by how calm and serene it was. Bare in mind that we went off season so I think this is really key if you’re hoping to avoid the mad rush of hormonal British teenagers hoping for the holiday of a lifetime and the endless parties of Hen and Stag do‘s. At this time (September-October), most of the resort is closing down for the season but not so much that it is dead and deserted. There were quite a lot of families around just like us and a lot of elderly tourists too so if you fall into these categories, this is the best time to go.

Another tip is to do your research really well.  Do you want to stay in a resort close to the airport? How far are you willing to go as there are towns in Majorca that require over two hours travel from the capital Palma. Because we were travelling with kids, we weren’t prepared to travel that far after a two-hour flight so we opted for a town close to the Capital…about 20 minutes away. This was a tough choice as I knew PalmaNova, where we were staying was close to the notorious Magaluf but we really need not have worried for reasons I have stated above. Our Hotel was gorgeous and about 3 minutes from the beach. It was also conveniently situated to loads of shops and supermarkets, great for stocking up and shopping ;-).

We had a wonderful time (with a few niggles of course) and I didn’t miss London for a second as I woke up to glorious sunshine every single morning, basking in balmy 28 degrees weather in October and lounging around the pool with no house work or cooking to worry about….ah….:-D

There was however one thing I found disappointing. The resort is so geared towards the British tourist market that I sometimes felt like I was in the UK! There were pubs and cafes and almost every restaurant had the typical bangers and mash or full English breakfast. It took a while to actually find restaurants that served local Spanish food which I was dying to sample.

Nevertheless, I can not wait to go back, it was absolutely beautiful!

Feast your eyes…x

Ice Cream...Majorcan Style

Ice Cream…Majorcan Style

My little munchkin having a splash in the kids pool at the hotel ;-)

My little munchkin having a splash in the kids pool at the hotel ;-)

 Son Matias Beach

Son Matias Beach

053

Just look at that view! Son Matias beach, Majorca

Just look at that view!
Son Matias beach, Majorca

063

Just to show that Majorca isn't all about sand and beaches....they have a very efficient road network.

Just to show that Majorca isn’t all about sand and beaches….they have a very efficient road network.

103114110122127

Residential zones...the villas are so lovely, I want one!

Residential zones…the villas are so lovely, I want one!

132

Ah what's a Spanish holiday without Flameco dancers eh/ Thanks Rosa del Mar Hotels!

Ah what’s a Spanish holiday without Flamenco dancers eh? Thanks Rosa Del Mar Hotels!

SONY DSCSONY DSC

The famous Palma Cathedral

The famous Palma Cathedral

SONY DSCSONY DSC

I kid you not, there were thousands of yachts and boats at the Palma port, it was mind boggling

I kid you not, there were thousands of yachts and boats at the Palma port, it was mind boggling

SONY DSC

And we caught a live band in town too!

And we caught a live band in town too!

2 thoughts on “Holiday Destinations For Families with Toddlers

  1. Pingback: Holiday Destinations For Families with Toddlers | Diaries of a young Nigerian woman

Go on....tell me what you think. I love Reading Your Replies!

