Life For Rent

The journey through life for everyone is so different that you sometimes have to wonder if we are all part of the same world.

For some, being born and growing up is as straightforward as ABC. For others, the struggle begins even before they’ve made their debut into the world. And for those who do, making it through each day is so hard, sometimes, it’s almost not worth it.

I’ve always wondered about these various facets of life; Why what seems to come naturally to some is a struggle for others, why some are rich and others poor, why some are clever and some aren’t, why some have so much to eat, they throw it away while others live off crumbs.

I’ve just come to a helpless conclusion that ;that’s just the way things are and there’s little we can do to change it.

Personally, I’ve found myself in situations where I’ve questioned myself, my life and asked God that harrowing question: WHY ME? During periods in my life when I was going through rough patches and it seemed there was no light at the end of the tunnel. Ironically, I have also asked God this same question later in life during times of great tidings because, I just couldn’t believe how good He was to me and I didn’t think I deserved it.

Looking back, I have to admit that all the horrible stuff that has ever happened to me, were as a direct result of my own foolishness. You could say it’s all part of growing up but I learned from those mistakes and I’m the better for it today. Some people (especially those who don’t believe in God) might argue that I didn’t need to make those mistakes in order to learn therefore, there was no absolutely no need for the hard times I went through but to be honest, those challenges just made me stronger, wiser and I have a deeper understanding and appreciation for life now than I did before.

There are however people in life whom through no fault of their own just have it really hard. And you know what makes it heartbreaking? Sometimes, these people are some of the loveliest, nicest people and if there’s any justice in the world, these are the sort of people who should get the best shot at anything life has to offer but we all know that it just doesn’t work that way. There isn’t a fixed formula that determines who gets what and why they should or shouldn’t or indeed, if they deserve it or not.

I believe in God. I’m not as religious as I would like (I’ve said this several times, I must begin to start like a broken record!) and even though I don’t understand these things, I still believe there’s a reason things are this way. I don’t know what that reason is but then this just goes to prove how mortal and powerless we are because nobody has been able to crack this code as far as I know.

I was watching a show on Telly a few days ago and there was this couple, the lady was over 35 and I reckon the husband was about the same age. They’d been looking for a child for years and just when they were about to give up….they finally found out they were having a baby!

However, their happiness was  short lived when the mother developed complications and they had to make a choice between saving her life or that of her baby. Can you just imagine a situation such as this? I have to mention that this was fiction but there are actually people in real life facing similar tough situations everyday all over the world.

Some people want a baby, all they have to do is think it and it’s done. For others, it takes meticulous planning, endless trips to the hospital and countless disappointments before it finally happens. Some women don’t even want a baby, yet they get pregnant while somewhere in the world, there’s a woman who’s been trying to have a baby for ten years and it still hasn’t happened for her yet.

I don’t get it, and while I question it, there’s nothing any of us can do about it, all we can do is hope and pray fervently that we get what we desire in life.

The most important thing I have learnt so far in this crazy world is that when you don’t get you want, you learn to love what you have and if you work really hard at that, you’ll never know the difference between the two because you will be happy with what life has given you, truly happy.

One thought on “Life For Rent

Go on....tell me what you think. I love Reading Your Replies!

