Getting your Life back after Having a Baby

Tonight is one of the few nights that I have not felt tired in a long time. Usually, by the time everyone is asleep, I’m usually left with a buzzing sound in my head and I have difficulty keeping my eyes open. I suspect I’m developing a migraine, but I can’t even be arsed to take anything for the pain.

motherhood-quotesMy daily routine usually involves waking up really late (around 10 ish, I know! lol), I do go to bed awfully late (This is me giving a lame excuse ;-) Forgive me) about 2.30 0r 3 am most days. My dear daughter then wakes up twice between this time and 8 0′ clock to feed for approx. 30 minutes each time so I don’t really get much sleep. As soon as I’m up, I sort out the kids and myself; bath, breakfast, nursery, laundry, tidying up, the whole shebang. By the time I’m done, it’s evening again; time to start making dinner!

There’s just not enough time in the day to get anything done when you’ve got kids; even if you’re not working. I have to doff my hat to stay at home mums, they’re super women.

My daughter is 6 months now and I’m beginning to think about getting ready to go back to work. We’re at that stage now where I feel slightly more confident leaving her with someone else while I go out, although this is still very much work in progress as she’ll scream the place down if I so much as step out of the room. My mum has been with us for a month now and my daughter still refuses to be fed by her and still cries if I leave her for any period of time. I’m not sure why I’m having a harder time weaning her off me as my son was the complete opposite! I didn’t do anything special to get him to adapt to people; he just went with the flow and has always been a good sport with new faces and places.

I’ve been brainstorming (yeah!) different methods to get her to settle down and embrace new people. I reckon a lot of mothers who exclusively breastfeed their babies for the first few months may also have a similar problem plus I’m the only constant person she’s known for over 5 months so it must be pretty tough on her to suddenly be thrusted into someone else’s arms.

I also think the fact that I’m trying to wean her at the same time is not helping. It’s been war in this household this past month trying to get her to have her formula! I had the same problem with my son as he was also exclusively breastfed for 6 months and I gave up after a couple of months of trying. I learnt a few things from that experience; You have to be persistent if you want to achieve results with babies….Who knew?

This time, I make sure I attempt to give her a bottle of formula every day. Some days, I’m really lucky and she takes it, other days, it ends up in the sink but I’m happy to say that nowadays, she does happily take her bottle although, we’re not a hundred percent there yet. While we’re on the subject, can I just say the method of waiting till baby is really really hungry is ancient and doesn’t always produce results? not to mention, your baby will be incredibly upset if it doesn’t work and you would most probably feel guilty and stressed out too as you’ll then have to breastfeed in a hurry. I think there are some babies that are gangsta. Hungry or not, they will refuse the bottle if they don’t want it. Just give them time and eventually they’ll come around.

Successfully establishing some sort of weaning schedule has meant that I can now finally wear whatever I want when I’m going out without having to worry about it’s suitability for breastfeeding i.e. Does it have buttons? Can I pull it up easily? Is it too long? etc. As I’m a lover of dresses, this has meant being stuck in jeans and tees or blouses for the last 6 months! Not very pleased.

Also, hubby and I are now looking forward to our first date night in what? A year? I couldn’t really go out much while I was pregnant as I was ill for most of my first trimester and some of my second trimester. By the time I had gotten better, going out and feeling funky just wasn’t on the agenda for me as I had too much going on so I missed a lot this year. It feels like I’ve been in a time tunnel and I’m just about to emerge out of my cocoon.

I don’t know if we’ll get lucky this week. I’m just so worried that if I leave her for a long period of time, She’ll start crying and there’ll be no pacifying her. This is silly really because, sooner or later, I will have to leave her with someone and she WILL most likely cry for a while and get over it but I just can’t bring myself to yank off the band aid just yet…arrggh!

What I’m doing now is leaving her for an hour or so with my mum while I stay out of view. This has been going quite well and I’m hoping to increase it to two hours this week and then maybe I’ll have the guts to leave her at home and go shopping or something, we’ll see.

I’m looking forward to dressing up and going to see a movie, then have dinner with my husband. I’m also looking forward to loosing my post baby pouch so I can get back into my dresses as they’re just lying there…..beckoning…….

I can’t wait to have a full night’s sleep, unbroken and going to bed early.

I’m looking forward to going out with just my hand bag and leaving the buggy at home…this would feel weird as I haven’t stepped put by myself in over a year.

I’m looking forward to my baby growing up, then the fun really begins for mummy :-).

3 thoughts on “Getting your Life back after Having a Baby

  1. Awwwwww bless! It’s ironic how we forget these tough starts with babies especially when they’re a lot older! Hope the little missy gets with the program ASAP and starts giving you more freedom!
    Have a happy new year! X

  2. Pingback: Getting your Life back after Having a Baby | Diaries of a young Nigerian woman

Go on....tell me what you think. I love Reading Your Replies!

